Oil Barons founder scores spot in Hall of Fame

(March 19 – Fort McMurray, AB) The Wood Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame Society (WBSHOF) is pleased to announce Ches Dicks as the first inductee into the Class of 2014.

Born in North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Dicks arrived in Fort McMurray in 1973 and quickly became immersed in the local sports scene. He was appointed president of the 9-hole Miskanaw Golf Course, a position he held until 1977. During the 1970s, Dicks also served as president of the Fort McMurray Senior Hockey League and Fort McMurray Major League Fastball.

Beginning in the late 1970s, Dicks led the charge in securing the rights to a Junior A hockey franchise in Fort McMurray. In 1981, the Alberta Junior Hockey League approved the application, and the Fort McMurray Oil Barons were officially founded, with Ches at the helm as the team’s inaugural president. Now in its 33rd season, the Oil Barons are widely recognized as one of the most successful Junior franchises in Canada.

“I’m very, very excited,” Dicks said in reference to his Hall of Fame induction. “I’m looking forward to it and I’m very, very honoured to be selected.”

Dicks, who will be inducted into the Wood Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame as a Builder, also served as MacDonald Island Park Board Chairman from 1978 to 1980 and was a Director with the Alberta Sport Council from 1988 to 1993. He retired and left Fort McMurray in 2000, however frequently returns for sports and community events and still considers himself as one of the community’s strongest supporters.

This year's Induction Dinner will honour Dicks and other individuals for their outstanding contributions to sport in the Wood Buffalo region. The 2014 Induction Dinner takes place June 12 at the Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre. Tickets are now on sale for $100 each or $800 for a table of eight. They can be purchased at the Keyano Box Office or by calling 780-381-1213. Sponsorship opportunities are also still available.  

For additional information or to arrange an interview contact:

Leithan Slade

Vice President, Wood Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame


Back to 2014 Inductees >